Pinarayi Vijayan Sworn in as Chief Minister of Kerala for Second Term

CPI(M) veteran Pinarayi Vijayan, who led the Left Democratic Front (LDF) to an unprecedented consecutive victory in the April 6 assembly polls, on Thursday took oath as Chief Minister of Kerala for the second time along with 20 ministers. Governor Arif Mohammed Khan administered the oath of office to 77-year-old Vijayan and ministers in a low-key function at the Central Stadium here, which was held completely in accordance with the COVID protocol.

While 15 ministers including the chief minister took oath in the name of the Indian Constitution, five took it in the name of God. Representative of the Indian National League in the CPI(M)-led ministry, Ahamed Devarkovil, took oath in the name of Allah. The ceremony began after the Governor reached the venue at 3.30 pm and concluded at 4.50 pm.

Took the oaths of office and secrecy, as the Chief Minister of Kerala. Together, let us realise a people’s alternative, and build a Nava Keralam!— Pinarayi Vijayan (@vijayanpinarayi) May 20, 2021

Congratulating Vijayan, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted: “Congratulations to Shri @vijayanpinarayi Ji on taking oath as CM and commencing his second term in office,” It is the Marxist veteran’s second stint in the top office.

Congratulations to Shri @vijayanpinarayi Ji on taking oath as CM and commencing his second term in office.— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) May 20, 2021

Opposition Congress-UDF leaders skipped the function in view of the COVID-19 spread. Ahead of the swearing-in, senior Congress leader Ramesh Chennithala telephoned Vijayan to congratulate him over the formation of the new ministry.

He informed Vijayan that the UDF representatives will watch the ceremony virtually in view of the spread of coronavirus. The Kerala High Court on Wednesday directed the government to restrict the number of participants at the function in view of the pandemic.

CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, senior party politburo members, CPI state secretary Kanam Rajendran and leaders of various religious and caste organisations attended the function. Besides LDF workers, family members of MLAs also watched the function on TV considering the court directive that the ceremony can be viewed from the residence of the respective MLAs.

An online musical fete featuring 54 singers, chronicling Kerala’s achievements during the rule of various Left governments in the state since its formation, greeted the dignitaries at the venue. Noted singers including K J Yesudas, Hariharan, Sankar Mahadevan, Amjad Ali Khan, P Jayachandran, K S Chitra, Sujatha, and M G Sreekumar, besides music composer A R Rahman and actor Mohan Lal participated in the programme titled ‘Nava Kerala Githanjali.’ .

Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here

Also Read

Related Stories