Cong MP A Revanth Reddy Appointed New Telangana PCC Chief, Azharuddin as Working President

Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Saturday appointed party MP A Revanth Reddy as the new Telangana Pradesh Congress chief, replacing N Uttam Reddy. The party chief also appointed five working presidents of the Telangana Congress, including former cricketer Mohd Azharuddin, and 10 senior vice presidents.

“The Congress President has appointed A Revanth Reddy as the new president of the Telangana PCC,” an official party statement said. He was earlier the working president of the outgoing PCC led by Uttam Reddy.

It said chairmen/convenors of Campaign Committee, Election Management Committee and AICC Programme Implementation Committee of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee have also been appointed. The five working presidents of Telangana PCC are Mohd Azharuddin, J Geetha Reddy, M Anjan Kumar Yadav, T Jagga Reddy and B Mahesh Kumar Goud.

The 10 senior vice presidents of the new PCC are Chandrashekhar Sambani, Damodhar Reddy, Ravi Mallu, Podem Veeraiah, Suresh Shetakar, Vem Narender Reddy, Ramesh Mudiraj, Gopishetty Niranjan, Kumar Rao T and Javeed Ameer.

“The party wholeheartedly appreciates the contributions of outgoing PCC President N Uttam Reddy. The party also appreciates the contributions of outgoing working presidents Ponnam Prabhakar and Jetti Kusum Kumar,” the party said.

The Telangana PCC Campaign Committee would be headed by Madhu Yashki Goud as chairman and Syed Azmatullah Husseni as its convener.

Damodar C Rajanarasimha has been made chairman of the Election Management Committee and Alleti Maheshwar Reddy as chairman of the AICC Programme Implementation Committee. The term of the current Telangana assembly ends on January 16, 2024.

The names of Bhongir MP Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and Malkajgiri MP Revanth Reddy were also in the race for the PCC presidency but Revanth, who is currently the working president, was finalised by the high command even when the senior leaders of the party were opposed to him.

Revanth Reddy started his political career in 2006 as a ZPTC member of Midgil Mandal of Mahabub Nagar District and served as a Member of the Legislative Council of United Andhra Pradesh from 2007 to 2009 as an Independent candidate.

In the 2009 and 2014 general elections, Revanth was elected as an MLA of Kodangal segment from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP). He served as a floor leader for Telugu Desam Legislative Party (TDLP) and working president of the party from 2014 to 2017.

Later, he joined the Congress Party and was elected as a working president of the party. Revanth Reddy lost from Kodangal segment in the 2018 elections and later he contested from Malkajgiri Parliamentary seat and was elected as an MP with the majority of 20,000 plus votes.

Since, Revanth Reddy is aggressive as an MP and a Congress leader, his supporters in the party are expecting that he will be more aggressive as a PCC chief.

Recently, the Enforcement Directorate (ED) filed a charge sheet against Revanth for his alleged involvement in cash for vote case. Stephenson accused Revanth Reddy of offering Rs 2 crore and a flight ticket to leave the country. The initial payment of Rs 50 lakh was paid and the remaining was promised after voting. The ACB has captured the complete conversation and exchange of money on camera.

The ACB had filed a charge sheet against Revanth Reddy and others under the criminal conspiracy and Prevention of Corruption Act. An audiotape of the then Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandra Babu Naidu was circulated on the social media which had created a sensation at that time. The charge sheet also mentioned the name of Naidu but not as an accused.

Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here

Also Read

Related Stories