Jolt to Squeezed BSP? Mayawati’s 9 Rebel MLAs Meet Akhilesh, May Switch Over to SP

Nine rebel MLAs from Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party met former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav on Tuesday. Sources said that they could switch over to the Samajwadi Party months ahead of UP assembly elections.

Last year five legislators — Aslam Chaudhary, Aslam Raini, Muztaba Siddiqui, Hakam Lal Bind and Govind Jatav — had joined Akhilesh’s team. That was the first time that the BSP had faced such a major setback, and that too, from her 2019 ally.

BSP MLA Uma Shankar Singh had then alleged that the five legislators who had rebelled against the party were being given ‘benefits’ of a money-bag and to stop Dalit leader Ramji Gautam, from going to Rajya Sabha.

(details awaited)

Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here

Also Read

Related Stories